Play The Music Of Steve Lacy //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording location: 
Wellspring Sound, Acton, MA, USA
Recording date: 
Wednesday, February 1, 2012
Curt Newton, the Netherland America Foundation, Julie Mallozzi, Ken Schaphorst, Irene Aebi-Lacy, Jef Charland, David Hawthorne Violin Bows, Rob Miller.
Mastering technician: 
Antonio Oliart
Mixing technician: 
Antonio Oliart
Recording technician: 
Matt Hayes
  • 1. Bone (to Lester Young) (08:48)
  • 2. As Usual (to Piet Mondrian) (05:40)
  • 3. The Wire (to Albert Ayler) (03:47)
  • 4. Ducks (to Ben Webster) (04:16)
  • 5. Dutch Masters (to Spike Jones & The City Slickers) (07:56)
  • 6. I Feel A Draft (to Mal Waldron) (04:47)
  • 7. The Whammies! (to Fats Navarro) (04:02)
  • 8. Locomotive (07:15)

Jorrit Dijkstra - alto sax, lyricon

Pandelis Karayorgis - piano 

Jeb Bishop - trombone

Mary Oliver - violin, viola (on 2,3,6, and 7)
Nate McBride - bass

Han Bennink - drums

Total time: 46:29

All compositions by Steve Lacy, except Locomotive by Thelonious Monk.

Bone is part of the six-part Tao Suite, and based on a poem by Lao Tze
As Usual is based on a poem by Bob Kaufman
Dutch Masters is based on a painting by Larry Rivers
I Feel a Draft is part of the three-part Precipitation Suite

Produced by Pandelis Karayorgis and Jorrit Dijkstra
Cover art by Han Bennink, design by Hidde Dijkstra