Xi //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording location: 
Recording date: 
Monday, February 1, 1999
Barbara Fränzen, Peter Oswald
  • 1. Fantaisie Mécanique (12:47)
  • 2. Xi (23:00)
  • 3. Akrostichon-Wortspiel: I. Hide And Seek (03:18)
  • 4. Akrostichon-Wortspiel: II. The Puzzle Of The Three Magic Gates (01:33)
  • 5. Akrostichon-Wortspiel: III. The Rules Of The Game - Sdrawkcab EmiT (01:37)
  • 6. Akrostichon-Wortspiel: IV. Four Seasons In Five Versions (01:51)
  • 7. Akrostichon-Wortspiel: V. Domifare S (02:37)
  • 8. Akrostichon-Wortspiel: VI. The Game Of Chance (01:24)
  • 9. Akrostichon-Wortspiel: VII. From The Old TIme (03:32)
  • 10. Double Concerto (20:39)

Unsuk Chin / Ensemble intercontemporain

“I’ve tried to write music that’s highly coloured in character and expression, freely flowing and flexible, and which sometimes develops in entirely unexpected directions.”

Like Xi and Fantaisie mécanique, the Double Concerto for prepared piano, percussion and ensemble (2002) was written for the Paris-based Ensemble intercontemporain. Its central compositional idea is that of combining its two antagonists – soloists and ensemble – to create a single homogeneous body of sound. While the soloists provide the impulse for the motivic cells, the ensemble takes up these cells and develops them further. Here too Unsuk Chin uses the idea of metamorphosis to realize a coherent musical texture that is nonetheless constantly growing. The sonorities and the complex rhythmic layering of the piece are to some extent influenced by Balinese gamelan music. (Martin Demmler)