Hyphen //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording location: 
Kakafon studio, Bergen
Recording date: 
Thursday, January 1, 2015
  • 1. New Radio (06:56)
  • 2. Connecting the Dots (02:03)
  • 3. Follow (02:47)
  • 4. Umpf Collection (03:23)
  • 5. Step Out (03:55)
  • 6. Memories in Orbit (06:20)
  • 7. Secret Passage (04:59)
  • 8. Blooming (04:26)
  • 9. Leapfrog (04:09)

Øyvind Hegg-Lunde - Drums
Stephan Meidell - Guitar

The drums/guitar duo Strings & Timpani use improvisation as a tool to create catchy and rhythmic music mixing influences from world music, jazz and lo-fi pop.

Strings & Timpani employ various preparations of their instruments, and explore new ideas within the classical duo format.

Drummer Øyvind Hegg-Lunde is also playing in the trio Building Instrument, José Gonzales´ indie pop band Junip (City Slang) and the psych-rock outfit Electric Eye (Jansen Plateproduksjon).

Guitarist Stephan Meidell has so far released two albums with the trio Cakewalk on HUBRO, not to forget the critically acclaimed solo LP "Cascades". Stephan is also a member in the indie-jazz trio Velkro (Clean Feed Records).

The duo also play together in Erlend Apneseth´s trio and in the band Krachmacher. They have previously - under the moniker "The Sweetest Thrill" - released two duo albums: "Jewellery" (Playdate Records 2012), and "Strings & Timpani" (Klang Kollektivet 2013). They have toured both nationally and internationally.

All songs by Øyvind Hegg-Lunde and Stephan Meidell (TONO)
Produced by Øyvind Hegg-Lunde and Stephan Meidell
Recorded by Stephan Meidell at Kakofon Studio, Bergen
Mixed by Stephan Meidell at Kakofon Studio, Bergen
Mastered by Iver Sandøy at Solslottet, Bergen