In Labour //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording date: 
Monday, July 1, 2013
  • 1. Sorting it all out (05:37)
  • 2. The Day After (02:23)
  • 3. Sleepwalker (04:18)
  • 4. NNN (03:36)
  • 5. The Foehn (03:32)
  • 6. Can’t get any closer (02:45)
  • 7. Test (00:30)
  • 8. Late Breakfast (02:21)
  • 9. Sounds From Cage (02:13)
  • 10. On Display (01:56)
  • 11. Nuisance Body Liquids (04:00)
  • 12. Condemnation Falls Through (01:25)
  • 13. Labouring (05:39)

Stine Janvin Motland is a vocal performer from Stavanger, Norway. She has been active for a number of years in different constellations and as a solo performer, but In Labour is her debut solo album. Stine has a distinct way of working with her voice – with a strong focus on intervals, repetition and texture.

In Labour is recorded and produced by Lasse Marhaug.

The recordings were made at various outdoor and indoor locations in Norway during the summer and autumn of 2013. The idea was to place Stine in challenging sonic environments, and to explore how the surroundings affected the performances. The locations were picked for their sonic qualities.

In Labour is both a solo voice and a field-recording album at the same time, but it is quite different from what either of these usually sound like.

In Labour is released by Pica Disk April 2014 on 180 gram vinyl LP.