Slime Zone //

Album label: 
Release date: 
  • 1. Get Out The Traps (02:34)
  • 2. Remote Control Mafia (05:13)
  • 3. Slugs For Lunch (07:00)
  • 4. Bring Em On (21:28)
  • 5. Happy After Dark Party Dance (13:46)

The trio of drummer Paal Nilssen-Love, electronic and turntable artist Lasse Marhaugm and vocalist/electronic artist Maja Ratkje met at Cafe Mono during the Oslo Jazz Festival to perform these excellent and disturbing recordings. Nilssen-Love is an active drummer on the European Free Jazz scene, performing with Brotzmann, Gustafsson, Vandermark, &c. &c. Maja Ratkje is one half of Fe-Mail, with a release on Tzadik, and recordings with Jaap Blonk. Lasse Marhaug is a sound artist who works in the fields of noise, but also performs with Territory Band, Circulasione Totale Orchestra (Frode Gjerstadt), &c. &c. Together the trio take a very informed approach to ea-improvising, with a skronky/punk aesthetic that creates active but not overbearing music. Theirs are unusual sound worlds that are articulate, if off-kilter, without being overbearing or overwhelming. An unorthodox but wonderful release.

Released: 2012
Recorded live on August 18th, 2010 at Cafe Mono during Oslo Jazz Festival by Audun Strype.

Paal Nilssen-Love-drums, percussion
Lasse Marhaug-electronics, turntable
Maja S.K. Ratkje-voice, electronics