Epitaffio //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording date: 
Saturday, January 1, 2000
  • 1. Monolith (15:44)
  • 2. Epitaffio (11:11)
  • 3. Canzona (14:17)
  • 4. Fonos (part 1) (04:08)
  • 5. Fonos (part 2) (06:25)
  • 6. Fonos (part 3) (07:00)
  • 7. Adieu (05:17)

Superb new readings of the orchestral works

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra celebrate the leading composer of Scandinavia with a fantastic recording of his earliest and last orchestral works. The emotional and terrifying beauty of Arne Nordheim's orchestral music have never been more captivating than in these new recordings.

His early works, Canzona (1960) and Epitaffio (1963) attracted big commissions from such names as Mstislav Rostropovich, L.A.
Philharmonics/Metha, Peter Pears and many other prominent artists. Adieu was written in 1994, in memory of Lutoslawski, and the work is related to both The Dream Ballade and the great oratorio Nidaros. Monolith was commissioned by the International Program for Music Composition, Tokyo, in 1996. Soloist Marius Hesby worked closely together with Nordheim on the trombone concerto Fonos, which was premiered in 2005 and was to be the composer's final work for orchestra.