Album label: 
Release date: 
  • 1. Unus (07:48)
  • 2. Duo (07:00)
  • 3. Tres (05:08)
  • 4. Quattour (09:36)
  • 5. Quincue (03:06)
  • 6. Sex (05:59)
  • 7. Septem (09:54)

Lemurs album "IIIIIII" is a document from their debut tour: recorded in one session at Grieghallen Studio and presented in its original order. These seven tracks portrays an ensemble on the edge of defining a new sound and their musical identity.

Throught the tracks, the four musicians unite as one sound-generating body, manipulating their instruments into making sounds one would believe to be electronic. The result is a music defying old or new esthetics, but instead searching for the ultimate sound experience using these exact instrument in the hands of these particular musicians.

Although making a clear contrast to “the northern sound” of Norwegian jazz – "IIIIIII" brings beautiful soundscapes side by side with frantic phrasing and inspired solo playing.

Bjørnar Habbestad • flutes
Hild Solfie Tafjord • french horn
Lene Grenager • cello
Michael Duch • double bass

Recorded in Grieghallen Studio by Davide Bertolini, mixed by Bjørnar Habbestad at Steens Offset and mastered by Bjørnar Habbestad and John Hegre at Duper Studio.