Landet er gitt oss //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording location: 
Nasjonal Jazzscene Victoria, Levinsalen
Recording date: 
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Kjetil Jerve (featured on piano on track 2.), Rob Waring (featured on vibraphone on track 3.). Thomas Strønen, Norwegian Academy of Music, Nasjonal Jazzscene Victoria, Friends & Family
Artwork design: 
Jun Fukukawa
Artwork design: 
Christian Meaas Svendsen
Mastering engineer: 
Aleksander Sjølie
Mixing engineer: 
Aleksander Sjølie
  • 1. vi er universet (15:13)
  • 2. den ene i forandring (08:55)
  • 3. landet er gitt oss (06:45)

Bendik Baksaas - synth, computer, sampler
Håkon Aase - violin
Adrian Løseth Waade - violin
Erlend Albertsen - double bass, saxophone
Christian Meaas Svendsen - double bass

Improvisation, truth, joy, jazz and doubt. These are but a few of the elements that frequently emerge in the universe of Filosofer's debut album "landet er gitt oss". Using the Norwegian version of a term used for people who spend most of their time pondering, one is lead to belive that their music is rooted in complex concepts and theoretic academia. So it is not. Filosofer focuses more on guts and feel rather than analyzing and thinking. Their basis for comprehension of the material- as well as meta-physical world, lies not within the realm of the intellect, but in the realm of sound.

The music unites an unorthodox string quartet consisting of two violins and two double basses with fresh input from computers, turntables, synthesizers and samplers. In what way are five jazz musicians the same as a string quartet and a DJ? “Filosofer” put their heads together and through the mercy of the moment they contemplate the riddle. It all collides in an improvisational play which holds powerful sounds, tender emotions and surreal musical narration.