Ausfahrt Freihalten! //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording location: 
Inter Arts Center, Malmö
Recording date: 
Sunday, November 19, 2017
Artwork design: 
Håkon Berre
Mastering engineer: 
Jakob Riis
Mixing engineer: 
Jakob Riis
Recording engineer: 
Jakob Riis
  • 1. Entlang (04:20)
  • 2. Neben (05:20)
  • 3. Gegenuber (06:04)
  • 4. Wahrend (04:37)
  • 5. Zwischen (05:26)
  • 6. Anstatt (04:27)
  • 7. Hinter (05:17)
  • 8. Durch (06:55)

Håkon Berre - drums.
Sture Ericson - saxophones and clarinet
Johannes Nästesjö - bass

With 9 international tours over the last four years and concerts at Copenhagen Jazz Festival, BlowOut in Oslo and Fem Jazz Festival in Banyoles, the trio Ericson/Nästesjö/Berre has begun to attract attention around Scandinavia and Europe. The group consists of Sture Ericson (SE) - saxophones and clarinet, Johannes Nästesjö (SE) - bass and Håkon Berre (NO) - drums. Ericson and Berre, both based in Copenhagen, have worked together in different constellations in recent years, e.g. the Maria Faust Jazz Catastrophe. In the autumn of 2014, they met bassist Johannes Nästesjö from Malmö and formed the trio ENB. Based on saxophone, clarinet, bass and drums, as well as various objects and preparations, the trio explores different aspects of free improvisation. This has resulted in a varied soundscape with a wide range of influences ranging from improvisations focusing on tonal textures, to pitch-related linear playing with relations to the free jazz- and jazz tradition. The trio’s debut-CD “Ausfahrt Freihalten”, released on the Danish label Barefoot Records, is an honest snapshot of the trio’s performance at the Inter Arts Center in Malmö in November 2017 and consists of 43 minutes of pure improvised music.