Double Sun //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording location: 
Recording date: 
Sunday, November 20, 2016
Artwork design: 
Jonas Etter
Mastering engineer: 
Hannes Kumke
Mixing engineer: 
Silvan Jeger
Mixing engineer: 
Hannes Kumke
Recording engineer: 
Hannes Kumke
  • 1. Magnetplanet (01:26)
  • 2. Momoko (09:07)
  • 3. Circles (05:01)
  • 4. Flutternoia (04:29)
  • 5. Skulldull (04:10)
  • 6. Winter (02:57)
  • 7. Double Sun (04:51)
  • 8. Angststück (03:16)
  • 9. City Lights (06:29)
  • 10. Neu ist nicht immer besser (02:04)

Silvan Jeger - Kontrabass, Gesang, Shrutibox, Komposition
Silvan Schmid - Trompete
Frantz Loriot - Viola
Vincent Glanzmann - Schlagzeug

The quartet of the Zurich based bass player and singer Silvan Jeger connects roots and branches of song type and world music with jazz and free improvisation. Resembling a gnarled tree that sprawls in all directions, strangely flourishing, bearing unusual fruit. The compositions are positioned like sculptures and objects in a white cube – however, they are held together by the sound of the group’s members who act as subtle bonsai-botanics and yet brave woodchoppers.
The debut "Double Sun" outlines in its artwork the materiality and the two-sidedness of the medium. The Zurich based artist Jonas Etter uses a grinding machine on the printed typography which doesn’t offer a clear front or rear side, bringing forth a serial of 300 different and therefore unique cover artworks.