Ears On Socks Off //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording location: 
Recording date: 
Sunday, July 1, 2012
Artwork design: 
Jeppe Zeeberg
Artwork design: 
Håkon Berre
Mastering engineer: 
Jonas Graverholt
Mixing engineer: 
Jonas Graverholt
Recording engineer: 
Jonas Graverholt
  • 1. Her Majesty’s Ship with Fred Lonberg-Holm - Vestibulum (15:50)
  • 2. Pistol Nr. 9 - Auricula (16:26)
  • 3. Wiklund/Zeeberg/Tangvik/Claesson/Berre - Tuba Eustachii (08:11)
  • 4. JapGaf - Malleus (06:59)
  • 5. Angel with Liudas Mockunas - Fenestra Ovalis (13:00)
  • 6. St. Andby with Sofia Jernberg - Modiolus (11:07)
  • 7. Dødens Garderobe - Ceromen Auris (03:39)
  • 8. Maria Faust/Liudas Mockunas - Incus (08:34)
  • 9. Greve/Friis Nielsen/Berre - Capitulum Mallei (11:53)

During Copenhagen Jazz Festival 2012, the music collective and record label Barefoot Records hosted eighteen concerts at the venue Christianshavns Beboerhus.

In an attempt to document a moment in Danish improvised music and to take a musical snapshot of the artists connected with Barefoot Records, half of the concerts were recorded and this double CD album is the result. For the concerts, five members of Barefoot Records invited colleagues from near and far to participate in improvised constellations, some of which were working groups while others met for the first time.

As the duration of the complete nine concerts would amount to an identical number of CDs, the music has been edited down to the present length of two CDs. We feel that each track is a self-contained musical journey, able to stand on its own, even when separated from its original whole. We hope that the music will excite you listening to it as much as it excited us playing it, and that these nine tracks will inspire you to explore the works of the individual artists as well as the output of Barefoot Records.

The album features the following musicians:
Maria Faust, Sture Ericson, Liudas Mockunas, Lars Greve – reeds
Tobias Wiklund – trumpet
Maria Bertel – trombone
Sofia Jernberg – vocals
Morten Pedersen, Jeppe Zeeberg – piano
Katrine Amsler – keys
Qarin Wikström – electronics
Adam Pultz Melbye, Nicolai Kaas Claesson – double bass
Peter Friis Nielsen – electric bass
Fred Lonberg-Holm, Thommy Andersson – cello
Stephan Sieben, Anders Lindsjö, Markus Pesonen – guitar
Michala Østergaard, Rune Lohse, Håkon Berre – drums