Hautullin //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording date: 
Wednesday, November 21, 2012
Mastering engineer: 
Bo Kondren
Mixing engineer: 
Hannes Bieger
Recording engineer: 
Aske Bode
  • 1. Klein Bleus (06:47)
  • 2. Joutomaa (06:51)
  • 3. Night at the Toy Factory (05:46)
  • 4. Quantum Foam (03:20)
  • 5. Mjølne (09:05)
  • 6. Tarantula Nebula (09:28)
  • 7. Discothèque (03:57)
  • 8. Monkey Rat Attack (03:50)
  • 9. Short Circuit (02:43)
  • 10. Brahmanda (04:58)
  • 11. Nuts (07:47)

¡haUtUllin is a Norwegian/Finnish duo which unites two young improvisers making music in the moment. The duo uses everything from ringing bells, tin plates and chains, to pot lids, tea towels, forks and chopsticks to make noise. Acoustic sounds gets electronically treated with computers before getting played back together with howling, distorted guitar, crackling computer noise and thundering drums.

¡haUtUllin! represents a break from the prevailing musical styles and with the reinvention of the instruments typical roles and use. haUtUllin! is an auditory anarchy where the sound palette is extended to the extreme. The members of the duo each have a long experience from the free improvising scene of Copenhagen and Berlin, which includes collaborations with (among others) Peter Brötzmann, Herb Robertson, Linda Kallerdahl, John Tchicai, Tristan Honsinger, Liudas Mockunas, Lotte Anker, Django Bates, Fred Lonberg-Holm and Eivind Lønning.

Markus Pesonen (FIN) – guitar, preparations, live electronics
Håkon Berre (NO) – drums, percussion, objects, live electronics