Mille Feuille //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording location: 
Recording date: 
Monday, October 1, 2018
Norsk Komponistforening
Artwork design: 
Rutger Zuydervelt
Mastering engineer: 
Marcus Schmickler
Mixing engineer: 
Magnus Skavhaug Nergaard
Recording engineer: 
Magnus Skavhaug Nergaard
  • 1. Upon arrival you forgot why you left (20:44)
  • 2. On the lookout (02:21)
  • 3. Let's crackle (03:29)
  • 4. Paradigm (02:10)
  • 5. Dive deeper (07:37)
  • 6. Concensus, time to leave (05:43)

Signe Emmeluth - saxohpone, electronics
Karl Bjorå - guitar, electronics

Mille Feuille was recorded during three days at Flerbruket, an old school builiding at Hemnes which now is a
workplace for artists of all sorts. OWL (Signe Emmeluth & Karl Bjorå) worked here together with sound
technician Magnus Nergaard with recordings that later would turn into the duo’s debut album.
The music is the result of a couple of years working with different ideas of improvisation and composition. Both
musicians have their opinions on how much or little control you bring into the music, or in what way you choose
to react to the other, and in what tempo reactions and interactions should occur. All these elements affect how
a piece is experienced, and how it progresses. Uncontrolled elements and surprising changes can both interrupt
and co-exist with already established motives. Working with both controlled and uncontrolled impulses at the
same time gives the music a depth and feeling of intense focus. The album title Mille Feuille, named after the
French cake, translates to “many layers”, which became a common thread in the artistic process.
Karl Bjorå (b. 1991) and Signe Emmeluth (b. 1992) are musicians and composers residing in Oslo. They perform
in the field for improvised and contemporary music, but take part in a wide range of projects within this
framework, in groups such as Megalodon Collective, Yes Deer, Mudskipper and Emmeluth’s Amoeba. Since
2012 they’ve toured extensively throughout Europe, Japan and USA, and have collaborated with well
established musicians such as Mats Gustafsson, Paal Nilssen-Love, Balazs Pandi, Alan Wilkinson and many